Jenn's Apartment was formed in 2004 by Roy Kirby with childhood friend Matthew Anderson, and local drummer Travis Stoliker. The band's initial offering, 2004's Let Them Talk We Will Sing is pock marked with signs of the era, post hardcore/pop punk riffs with the mandatory screamo climax. But it serves as an introduction to the band's high live energy and the early glimpses of singer/guitarist Roy Kirby's folk inspired story teller songwriting style. 

The band's well received 2006 follow up Divide and Conquer found the band expanding their sound and line up, while refining their pop sensibilities and further developing their own unique sound. Additional vocalist Jesse Lovejoy, and Josh Peek provided a catchy call and response vocal style, best showcased in fan favorite from the album "Uh Oh". The band became a favorite at the local Lansing venue The Temple Club. Sharing the stage with national acts like Lucky Boys Confusion, Blackpool Lights (ex Get Up Kids), The Arcade Fire, Catch 22, Socratic, The Ataris, and others. 

Their planned 2007 release It's Science was an expansion of the bands folk inspired pop punk sound. Songwriter Roy Kirby's songs grew increasingly political and full of pop hooks propelling the album's early single "March On" to quick popularity on multiple online music streaming platforms. Unfortunately, several line-up changes led to the band disbanding before the album was given a proper release. Though some bootleg copies of the album were circulated at the band's last few shows before their hiatus. 

In 2015, songwriter/guitarist Roy Kirby reformed Jenn's Apartment with drummer Justin Pine and bassist Chris Davis. 

In 2016 they released the Forever For The End EP. The release found the band returning to their power trio roots and delivering a folk rock/alternative/pop punk album that was reviewed positively. said: 

"The lyrics are excellent, easy to follow and paint a vivid picture that we can follow; it makes the album engaging and relatable." 

Side Stage Magazine said "This is a talented band with a fresh sound for this day and age. 'this is a five-star album." 

On the 20th of April 2018 the band revealed their first full length release We're a Small Band. Completely produced and recorded independently by the band. In the tradition of other classic power trios like Cream, Nirvana, and Green Day; the album's sound is dynamic and catchy. Rhythm guitars jangle and crunch, while leads squeal and bass lines punctuate energetic drums. The vocals recall 2000's era alternative bands like Eve 6 and the story teller narrative recalls similar back to basics bands like The Hold Steady. Creating a sound that is unique, but familiar at the same time; and wholly their own. We're a Small Band is proof that a small, independent band can still sound big and relevant in today's saturated music market.

Recently Jenn's Apartment has branched outside their hometown of Lansing, Michigan to explore the music communities of Detroit, Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, and Battle Creek. The beginning of 2019 has been a busy time for the band as they continue to tour through the state of Michigan while announcing another album release for April.